Answers To Your Frequently Asked Workers’ Compensation Questions
After your workplace injury, you may have questions about how to obtain workers’ compensation. These are the ones we hear a lot from our clients:
How long do I have to report my injury?
Iowa law says employees have 90 days to report their injury or approximately three months. There may be some cases where you get more than 90 days. However, this can depend on the circumstances. For example, you may have more time to file an injury claim if your injury symptoms gradually develop over time.
Does my injury have to be sudden to receive workers’ compensation?
Workplace injuries do not have to be sudden or catastrophic for you to receive workers’ compensation benefits. Workplace injuries can be sudden or random through a slip-and-fall accident, equipment malfunction or other situations. Cumulative injuries or repetitive stress injuries are typically injuries that build up over time. They can include, but are not limited to:
- Carpal tunnel syndrome
- Tennis elbow
- Trigger thumb
- Shin splints
- Back injury
- Shoulder injury
- Knee injury
We can help you make a strong case for your workers’ compensation claim. Call 319-774-2687 to speak with one of our attorneys today.
Can an insurer deny my claim because of a preexisting condition?
A preexisting condition does not immediately exclude you from obtaining workers’ compensation for your injury. If the duties and motions you perform at work aggravate your preexisting condition, you likely have a valid workers’ compensation claim.
Can I have my own doctor evaluate my injury?
While you can go to your doctor, you often have to pay for those visits yourself. In Iowa, if you want your workers’ compensation-related doctor’s visits covered, you have to see a provider chosen by your employer or their insurer. However, if the advice and treatment they offer aren’t helping you recover, you may be able to request a different one.
How much is the average workers’ compensation check in Iowa?
Workers’ compensation pay in the Hawkeye State is around 66% of a worker’s earnings. Learn more about how those earnings are calculated and determined by watching this video from our attorney Mindi Vervaecke.
Get The Care And Compensation You Deserve – Call Today.
We understand that your situation is unique and that not all of these FAQs address all your needs and concerns. Call our office at Wertz Law Firm, P.C. or visit our contact page to schedule a free consultation. We can address any additional inquiries regarding your circumstances.